Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#149624 - 01/14/04 01:11 AM PRE COMPUTED INTEREST
Anonymous
Unregistered

I know this sounds silly, but I am new to compliance, directly out of quality control. Unlike compliance, some of the terminology in QC we don't use enough to allow me to become familiar. Out of curiosity what is the difference between a Pre-Computed Interest Loan versus a Simple Interest Loan? Thanks!

Return to Top
Lending Compliance
#149625 - 01/14/04 02:42 AM Re: PRE COMPUTED INTEREST
Jack Holzknecht Offline

Gold Star
Louisville, KY
Simple interest is computed on the actual balance outstanding on the payment due date. Precomputed interest is calculated on the original principal balance. The interest is added to the original principal balance and divided by the number of payments to determine the payment amount. In some cases, the original balance is discounted and interest is earned on the interest. Often, in the past, precomputed interest was taken into income on an accelerated basis, such as the Rule of 78s; however, the Rule of 78s is no longer an acceptable method of accounting for loan income. The acceptable method for accounting for loan income is the actuarial method. Basically precomputed interest is an old usury busting technique that very few lenders use today.

Simple Versus Precomputed Interest -Examples
8% SIMPLE INTEREST 8% ADD-ON INTEREST
Amount Financed 5,000.00 5,000.00
Finance Charge 640.48 1,199.92
Total of Payments5,640.48 6,199.92
APR 8.00% 14.55%
Payments 36 x 156.68 36 x 172.22

Return to Top
#149626 - 01/14/04 02:23 PM Re: PRE COMPUTED INTEREST
Anonymous
Unregistered