Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#473006 - 12/20/05 09:13 PM Starting with CRA
BankerJohn Offline
New Poster
Mississippi
Hi. I work for a <200 million community bank, in a loan office in a community where our Bank is building a full service branch. I am also new to banking, having come from the consumer finance field. I have been named compliance officer for the branch and CRA officer. We have some loans ($7 million) and my boss who has limited knowledge of CRA wants me to start a file for CRA in our office. Any suggestions on where to start and what sort of information I would need to have on file, other than our loan information. Thanks

Return to Top
CRA
#473007 - 12/20/05 10:16 PM Re: Starting with CRA
Don_Narup Offline

Power Poster
Las Vegas Nevada
Welcome to banking and CRA. If this is a Branch Bank then "The Bank" should have a Compliance Officer for the bank as a whole. It is unusual to have a "Branch CRA Officer"

If this is a branch and you have been asked to follow CRA issues then contact the banks compliance officer and see what they expect you to do.

If you have been appointed as the banks CRA Officer then no one has done you a favor, as it really requires a person that has a good understanding of banking to handle all that is required.

In order to answer more completely let us know if you are the banks CRA Officer or someone the branch manager has asked to coordinate things in the "Branch"

Return to Top
#473008 - 12/20/05 10:25 PM Re: Starting with CRA
BankerJohn Offline
New Poster
Mississippi
I'm coordinating in the Branch. Yeah, I got surprised with compliance, but in consumer finance we had to be strict on policies, procedures, and paperwork. We dealt with lawsuits and all sorts of fun things daily. I called the HO and we are getting some info sent to us to start our files. SInce we are in another community from HQ, we will keep up with our info here. THanks for any help.

Return to Top