Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#615758 - 09/20/06 06:48 PM Regulation E
CAKE Offline
We recently had outside auditors audit our Regulation E disputes. They mentioned that after our debit card processor gives us credit for our requested chargebacks, we need to send a final letter to our cardholder within two business days rather than wait the full 90 days. I've been working with POS disputes for over three years and this is the first I've heard of this. What are your thoughts?

Return to Top
eBanking / Technology
#615759 - 09/20/06 07:12 PM Re: Regulation E
BrianC Offline
Power Poster
BrianC
Illinois
Just because your processor gives you credit does not mean they won't hit you with a representment later on once the merchant has a chance to respond to the chargeback. Once your are presented with difinitive evidence that a charge is unauthorized, then yes, you should close the investigation. IMO geting credit from your processor does not quailify as difinitive evidence.

Return to Top
#615760 - 09/20/06 07:31 PM Re: Regulation E
John Burnett Offline
10K Club
John Burnett
Cape Cod
I concur. YOu have an obligation to close the investigation as soon as you can (you can't simply go to the deadline if there's no reason to do so), but you should be assured the investigation is completed before assigning that status to the file.
Bankers' Threads User #8

Return to Top
#615761 - 09/24/06 06:59 PM Re: Regulation E
Andy_Z Offline
10K Club
Andy_Z
On the Net
I'd add that it isn't over until it is over. When you get credit, what is happening in the investigation? If you stop doing anything and so do others connected with this, then it is over. But if you're still reviewing authorizations, photos, etc. than the claim is still ongoing and you don't want to call it to an end. When you send that letter, it is over. As John noted, you can't just sit on your hands though, watching the calendar.