Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Learn More - Click Here!

Thread Options
#100973 - 07/25/03 05:30 PM Cashing a check for a charged off checking account
N Langley Offline
New Poster
Mid West
We wanted to know if somebody brings a check to cash and we have charged their checking account off and sent them to ChexSytems can we collect the money from this check?

What if the person signs the check over to another person, can we try to collect the funds?

Return to Top
Operations Compliance
#100974 - 07/25/03 06:04 PM Re: Cashing a check for a charged off checking account
Brandy Osborne Offline
Platinum Poster
KY
While i'm not a pro in this subject, i'll give it a shot. my first thoughts is simply no. this is not a right of offset situation, especally if the check is from another bank and even more so if the check is made payable or endorsed to another person. that person is holder in due course. could be wrong, but thats how we would treat it at our bank

Return to Top
#100975 - 07/25/03 06:38 PM Re: Cashing a check for a charged off checking account
Andy_Z Online
10K Club
Andy_Z
On the Net
I too have my doubts as you'd have to make them deposit the funds to setoff, I believe.

You could refuse to cash the check.
Rules and Regs minus Relationships equals Resentment and Rebellion. John Maxwell

Return to Top
#100976 - 07/25/03 07:12 PM Re: Cashing a check for a charged off checking account
Don_Narup Offline

Power Poster
Las Vegas Nevada
Its absolutely amazing what happens sometimes when you ask for your money. If they don't want to pay, you can refuse to do business with them.

Return to Top
#100977 - 07/25/03 07:18 PM Re: Cashing a check for a charged off checking account
N Langley Offline
New Poster
Mid West
Could we refuse to cash the check if it is drawn off of us?

Return to Top
#100978 - 07/25/03 07:41 PM Re: Cashing a check for a charged off checking account
Don_Narup Offline

Power Poster
Las Vegas Nevada