Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
Thread Options
#1053152 - 09/29/08 08:30 PM Re: House rejects bailout Princess Romeo
Blade Scrapper Offline
Power Poster
Blade Scrapper
Outside A Garage
Originally Posted By: Bonnie M
From a historical view, what stands out to me are the accounts of how much "some Republicans"* hated FDR, and as soon as they could, they started to dismantle all aspects of his "New Deal".

I am not an expert on this subject, but I believe the main items left from the "New Deal" were FDIC, Social Security, and Glass-Steagall, Fannie Mae/Freddie Mac.

Glass-Steagall fell in 1999. Significant discussions were taking place on "privitizing" Social Security, and one has to wonder if FDIC was the last on the list.

And all those who were hoping for a repeal of transaction limits on time deposits? I don't think Congress will touch that topic with a 10 foot pool for at least the next 5 to 10 years.

*Republicans, social conservaties, free-market advocates are all being lumped in here, but I'm also saying that not all such folks were in agreement.

Return to Top
Chat! - BOL Watercooler
#1053167 - 09/29/08 08:39 PM Re: House rejects bailout Blade Scrapper
#Just Jay Offline
10K Club
#Just Jay
Cheeseheadland
This is not a bad thing... I am only dissapointed because my congressman voted for the measure.

This whole mess is a pig in a snake, and simply needs time to work it out through the system. Granted it may take a few years, but is what needs to happen.

Let a few of the big boys fall, let a few more take the lumps from the bets they made, and allow several new companies/banks and such arise from the ashes better, leaner and more innovative than ever before.

Return to Top
#1053173 - 09/29/08 08:43 PM Re: House rejects bailout FBH
straw Offline
Power Poster
straw
Originally Posted By: FBH
Originally Posted By: straw
You mean like the Depression was a win. That's what happened the last time we faced a crisis of this proportion and did nothing.