Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#1154043 - 03/30/09 07:54 PM UCC filing
Cale_N_Oats Offline
Platinum Poster
Cale_N_Oats
Southern Illinois
I am new to banking, especially when it comes to filing a UCC. We did a search on out inventory prior to closing. Then we filed a few days later. My question is how long after a loan closes do you have to file your UCC. Its a blanket lien.

Return to Top
Article 9
#1154266 - 03/30/09 11:11 PM Re: UCC filing Cale_N_Oats
Tom at HOME Offline
Diamond Poster
There is no time limit. You just are not perfected (and have no priority over someone who is perfected) until you complete the last of the following four actions:
1. File a financing statement (UCC1),
2. Have the security agreement signed,
3. Fund the loan, and
4. The date the debtor owns (has rights in) the collateral.

The order does not matter, but you should have filed and then searched prior to funding so you would know your position prior to funding. Wise bankers do it, others think of all kinds of excuses why they should not pre-file.

Return to Top
#1154371 - 03/31/09 01:00 PM Re: UCC filing Tom at HOME
Cale_N_Oats Offline
Platinum Poster
Cale_N_Oats
Southern Illinois
So, lets say we do the search prior to funding the loan and se that we are first lien holders. So, we fund the loan and then file the UCC a few days later. Is that a violation under UCC or is it a dangerous practice? Our loan officers say they don't file until after closing because if the borrower decides to withdrawal then they don't want to have to pay for the filing. Our loan officer also says that their is a 20 day period in which you are granted perfection even though you have not filed the UCC, is that right cus i cant find it anywhere?

Return to Top
#1154466 - 03/31/09 02:24 PM Re: UCC filing Cale_N_Oats
Cale_N_Oats Offline
Platinum Poster
Cale_N_Oats
Southern Illinois
I found this:

Illinois Laws and Regulations
Banking Laws
CHAPTER 810 COMMERCIAL CODE
SUBPART 2. PERFECTION