Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#1223458 - 07/28/09 05:13 PM Risk Assessment on Non-Business Account
GottaLuvIt Offline
We perform risk assessments all business accounts. Does anyone have a form they use (and would share)to perform an assessment for non-business accounts? All sources I have searched refer to business accounts. I'm a newbie and will take any help I can get! grin

Return to Top
BSA/AML/CIP/OFAC Forum
#1224049 - 07/29/09 03:49 PM Re: Risk Assessment on Non-Business Account GottaLuvIt
WonderWoman Offline
Diamond Poster
WonderWoman
gone fishin'
We do not risk assess non-business accounts. I have written into my risk assessment that personal accounts are considered Low Risk unless other red flags are detected through regular monitoring.

I require all New Accounts to gather Occupation as that helps determine risk.

Return to Top
#1224252 - 07/29/09 07:16 PM Re: Risk Assessment on Non-Business Account WonderWoman
Nancyod Offline
New England
If you send me a PM with your email address, I will email you a copy of our form.

Return to Top
#1224492 - 07/30/09 11:01 AM Re: Risk Assessment on Non-Business Account GottaLuvIt
Elwood P. Dowd Offline
10K Club
Elwood P. Dowd
Next to Harvey
Only two members of the customers subject to expanded examination overview club are consumer accounts: non resident aliens and politically exposed persons. Your due diligence process should include questions that would identify them at account inception and plug them into your risk weighting system.

Beyond that, an AML risk assessment on consumer customers is of relatively little value. You are looking for money laundering, not penny ante fraud. It would be very difficult to launder money through a consumer account and it's a reasonable assumption that the activity would be abberrant enough to bring it to your attention through the review of daily reports.