Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#1301924 - 12/09/09 06:15 PM CTR completion: acceptable id
GottaLuvIt Offline
Bear in mind that I am fairly new to BSA... an individual cashed a check drawn on our bank which triggered a CTR. The indiviual has had in past, accounts with our bank, which are now closed. When the accounts were originally opened, customer was exempt from CIP therefore identification documents were not obtained. Individual has no picture id for whatever reason, but did provide both a copy of social and birth certificate on the date check was presented for cash. When completing line 14 of CTR, what is the correct information to provide? select other and provide account type and number of closed account or birth certificate along with certificate number?

The ssn and date of birth on docs provided do match what bank already has on file.

I appreciate any recommendations.

Return to Top
BSA/AML/CIP/OFAC Forum
#1301950 - 12/09/09 06:45 PM Re: CTR completion: acceptable id GottaLuvIt
Auditor247 Offline
100 Club
Auditor247
What type of entity is it since it was exempt from CIP?

Return to Top
#1301984 - 12/09/09 07:09 PM Re: CTR completion: acceptable id Auditor247
GottaLuvIt Offline
not an entity, he is an individual consumer

Return to Top
#1302119 - 12/09/09 08:54 PM Re: CTR completion: acceptable id GottaLuvIt
nemsi Offline
Gold Star
I'm assuming that he was a known customer on 10/1/03? is the individual elderly or disabled?

Return to Top
#1302278 - 12/09/09 10:54 PM Re: CTR completion: acceptable id nemsi
GottaLuvIt Offline
Yes, he was a known customer prior to 10/1/03, but he is neither elderly or disabled.

Return to Top
#1302328 - 12/10/09 02:44 AM Re: CTR completion: acceptable id GottaLuvIt
rlcarey Online
10K Club
rlcarey
Galveston, TX