Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Learn More - Click Here!

Thread Options
#134796 - 11/26/03 07:47 PM One account 4 DBA's?
BSA4LIFE Offline
Gold Star
California
I am new to Operations/Compliance and I am the only one here today, so I need your help. A customer John Doe has 4 DBA's using his SSN and he wants to open one account and list all 4 DBA's. I say no, one account per DBA. Am I correct? Thanks

Return to Top
Operations Compliance
#134797 - 11/26/03 09:20 PM Re: One account 4 DBA's?
David Dickinson Offline
10K Club
David Dickinson
Central City, NE
How many TIN's are there?

Return to Top
#134798 - 11/26/03 10:37 PM Re: One account 4 DBA's?
BSA4LIFE Offline
Gold Star
California
One TIN, the customer is using his SSN.

Return to Top
#134799 - 11/26/03 10:42 PM Re: One account 4 DBA's?
starfish Offline
Gold Star
starfish
Seattle
I have had this situation before where we allowed one account with multiple dbas as long as the customer can prove (via business licenses) that he is indeed the owner of all the dbas. I would think that this would be an accounting nightmare, however, for him!

Return to Top
#134800 - 11/26/03 11:06 PM Re: One account 4 DBA's?
David Dickinson Offline
10K Club
David Dickinson
Central City, NE
I'm not sure I like it, but if they are all the same TIN, they are all him. Therefore, it is OK.

Return to Top
#134801 - 12/04/03 02:18 AM Re: One account 4 DBA's?
HRH Dawnie Offline
Power Poster
HRH Dawnie
Anchorage Alaska
I'd warn the client of your potential difficulty to locate all business names each time he is in to make deposits (if this is an issue due to your limited name line spaces). While it's ok to do, it's often difficult for a teller to read every dba if you only allow 20 character name lines. Sometimes the client is better served opening one for his larger DBA and using either linked or sweep accounts which are charged on a relationship basis than opening the one large account.

CRA Rating is in...Oh who cares...I'm home with the baby.