Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Learn More - Click Here!

Thread Options
#138917 - 12/11/03 09:50 PM IRA Question
Anonymous
Unregistered

I am new to IRA's. I understand that we are suppose to send statements to all those IRA holders who are required to take minimum distributions in the year. Was this for the year 2003 too? Are required to send this to all who are required or just those who have now met the 70 1/2 threshold? Also, is there (I am sure there is) an IRS form that must be completed for this. Sorry for my ignorance in this matter.

Return to Top
Operations Compliance
#138918 - 12/12/03 04:48 PM Re: IRA Question
mrenderman Offline
100 Club
mrenderman
Wisconsin
Yes, you need to let the customer know at the beginning of each year what their RMD amount will be for that year. Yes, we had to send letters in January of 2003. The letters are required to be sent to each person that is to take an RMD for that year. We have a program on our new accounts software that has and RMD notice right in it, we just enter the name of the customer and the amount for which year. We mail a copy and keep a copy in the customer's file to prove that we sent it and what the RMD is. If you have any other questions, please feel free to PM me and we can discuss on e-mail.

Return to Top
#138919 - 12/12/03 08:40 PM Re: IRA Question
Tisa Offline
Platinum Poster
Tisa
Do you know the way to ...
Starting in 2003 - You must send the RMD-requirement notices for every IRA plan that has a required RMD for that year, if the IRA holder had a balance as of December 31 of the prior year and was alive as of January 1st. It must be postmarked to the IRA holder by January 31st. (1/31/04 is a Saturday, so it will be Monday 2/2/04 - Groundhog Day - instead.)

As for the content of the notice (if you system doesn't automatically print them for you), you have two options:

Option 1:
The statement must include
- the amount of the RMD with respect to the IRA Plan for the calendar year