Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Learn More - Click Here!

Thread Options
#1390397 - 05/13/10 03:45 PM Deposit Side Compliance
homebase10 Offline
New Poster
tx
I am new to the compliance department and need help in finding out what I need to look at to make sure all of the deposit side is in compliance. Does anyone have any ideas or worksheets that you use for the year to get me started?

Return to Top
#1390519 - 05/13/10 04:52 PM Re: Deposit Side Compliance homebase10
Lil'Belle Offline
100 Club
Lil'Belle
Texas, United States
Thats a broad question. Start here on BOL and do different searches and check out BOL's Bankers Tools.

Return to Top
#1390546 - 05/13/10 05:08 PM Re: Deposit Side Compliance Lil'Belle
Doug Hendrickson Offline
Power Poster
Doug Hendrickson
You might also suggest to your manager to get you registered for some courses, such as the IBCA Compliance Institute, which will give you a broad, but comprehensive overview of the regulations affecting the deposit side.

If not, I would recommend focusing your efforts on what I think are the top three regulations for deposits:

Truth-in-Savings Act - Regulation DD
Expedited Funds Availability Act - Regulation CC
Electronic Funds Transfer Act - Regulation E

as well as Regulation D (reserves) and Regulation Q (interest on deposits)

Return to Top
#1390788 - 05/13/10 08:15 PM Re: Deposit Side Compliance Doug Hendrickson
homebase10 Offline
New Poster
tx
Thank you.

Return to Top
#1390918 - 05/13/10 11:06 PM Re: Deposit Side Compliance homebase10
OpsGuy Offline
New Poster
As Doug put it, that was one of the first things they sent me to when I entered the 'black hole' that is Compliance.

It was very beneficial and will also help you established contacts in the same field. And yes, it's a very broad topic.

Return to Top
#1392720 - 05/18/10 05:13 PM Re: Deposit Side Compliance homebase10
Reads Regs Offline
Diamond Poster
Originally Posted By: homebase10