Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#1390720 - 05/13/10 06:57 PM No GFE provided
VRV Offline
100 Club
Am I correct in assuming that, if no GFE was provided to the applicant at all, no fees can be charged to the borrower in connection with that loan (other than items that have no tolerance, such as escrow deposit)? In this situation, the applicant applied for a loan, was approved, and is now scheduled to close in a few days, but no GFE was ever provided. I don't see any option except to provide the loan with no fees--am I overlooking something?

Return to Top
RESPA
#1390851 - 05/13/10 09:14 PM Re: No GFE provided VRV
DD Regs Offline
Power Poster
DD Regs
Somewhere in the middle
1. I am by no means an expert on this issue, but I would suggest sending a GFE so the borrowers understands what you are going to do for them.

2. I would pay all the items that have a tolerance related to them.

3. I would put a size 14 up someones you know what. I understand we all make mistakes, but cheese whiz, what kind of training did this person get.

4. Do a review of the process, how does a loan get to closing without disclosures being sent?

Those who are smarter than me can chime in, I would love to read what you think.

Return to Top
#1390870 - 05/13/10 09:49 PM Re: No GFE provided DD Regs
VRV Offline
100 Club
Thanks so much for your thoughts. I agree with you that we should go ahead and send a GFE now that will show no fees being paid by the borrower. We will pay all third-party costs associated with the loan and waive our internal loan charges.

This error arose out of an unusual situation--it didn't come through our normal process, so that's how it happened. It's too complicated to explain in detail here, but suffice to say, it doesn't cause me any concerns about our procedures.

I really appreciate your thoughts. I was assuming we would be required to cover the borrower's costs, but I wanted to make sure I wasn't missing something that would provide some remedy here.