Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#141396 - 12/18/03 09:29 PM Question regarding resume submission
Anonymous
Unregistered

Would those of you responsible for hiring in banks be willing to supply your professional opinions on what you look for when an applicant submits a resume?

Currently I am an officer of the bank (getting ready to seek employment elsewhere) and I would appreciate your thoughts on what catches your eyes when applicants mail you resumes. Or if the applicant mails the resume to an executive officer of the bank, does it actually end back up on your desk?

It has been a while since I have been through this process and would like to know the "ins" of applying for a similiar management position with another bank.

Return to Top
Human Resources
#141397 - 12/18/03 09:53 PM Re: Question regarding resume submission
Bob McComas Offline
Platinum Poster
Bob McComas
Dallas, Texas
As someone who is in the executive recruiting field for banks, as well as HR compliance, prior to being the HR head for too many years, I offer the following advice:

Your resume should be focused. This goes for both the Summary Statement (25 words or less), and your experience. List responsibilities and accomplishments within those responsibilities rather than duties. Resumes last approximately 3-5 seconds in front of the screener if sent unsolicited, and 10-15 seconds in sent in response to a solicitation. Therefore, you need to be concise and get the readers attention. If the resume is sent to someone who is expecting it, it will be read and re-read several times within a few minutes. Keep the resume to 2 pages and SPELL CHECK it. Bad grammer and misspelled words are the fastest way to get rejected.

Write your resume, put it down for 24-48 hours then go back to it and re-read it several times before you send it to make sure there are no glitches in it.