Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#1505998 - 02/07/11 04:05 PM Combining Fraud in your BSA Department
BeckyB Offline
New Poster
Columbia, SC
Has anyone out there combined their fraud and BSA departments? If so, can you provide some insight on how to begin the process? What "fraud" pieces exactly reside in this area? Any info is appreciated!

Return to Top
BSA/AML/CIP/OFAC Forum
#1506638 - 02/08/11 05:13 PM Re: Combining Fraud in your BSA Department BeckyB
MrsArmadillo Offline
MrsArmadillo
The South
I am a Fraud Prevention Manager and the bank's BSA Operations Officer. It was fairly easy for us because we can review the same types of reports and alerts for both fraud and BSA. In my opinion they pretty much go hand in hand. I have had differing opinions from examiners/auditors. Some like to see them combined...others not so much.

Return to Top
#1506656 - 02/08/11 05:32 PM Re: Combining Fraud in your BSA Department MrsArmadillo
madukes Offline
Diamond Poster
madukes
Flyers Country
they are combined at our bank in the Loss Prevention Dept.

Return to Top
#1506751 - 02/08/11 07:15 PM Re: Combining Fraud in your BSA Department madukes
WonderWoman Offline
Diamond Poster
WonderWoman
gone fishin'
I'm the BSA & Fraud Officer - in the Risk Management Dept.

$1B bank - so hoping to get some help soon - but the functions will stay in Risk Management as a combined effort.

Return to Top
#1507404 - 02/09/11 06:06 PM Re: Combining Fraud in your BSA Department WonderWoman
K8T Offline
100 Club
K8T
I have fallen down the rabbit ...
not sure anyone answered the original question- Is there a difference between Fraud and BSA issues- or in all cases do they overlap?

Return to Top
#1507488 - 02/09/11 06:55 PM Re: Combining Fraud in your BSA Department K8T
WonderWoman Offline
Diamond Poster
WonderWoman
gone fishin'
I believe they overlap - but where you may have different procedures is in regards to dollar amount.