Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#1564667 - 06/14/11 06:01 PM Certifications
Banker Offline
100 Club
Southeastern US
I have been working in internal audit for about 3 years now. I also help out in the compliance area although I am not a Compliance Officer. I currently have no certifications in audit or compliance (just a Bachelor's degree in Financial Management). I am at the point that I would like to look into additional education/certification. There are so many to consider. Which do you all consider most helpful in your job as well as looking good to examiners, on a resume, etc?

Return to Top
Audit
#1564699 - 06/14/11 06:32 PM Re: Certifications Banker
osucpa Offline
Diamond Poster
The most useful on a resume would be your CPA. After your CPA go get your Certified Internal Auditor.

Return to Top
#1564714 - 06/14/11 06:42 PM Re: Certifications osucpa
A_G Offline
10K Club
Though, keep in mind that the CPA is a license and the requirements to be able to sit for the exam are more strict. For example, you need a X number of hours in certain areas of course study.

If you plan to stick with internal audit, the examiners love to see you have the CIA certification.

Return to Top
#1564840 - 06/14/11 09:11 PM Re: Certifications A_G
JustMe! Offline
Gold Star
wishful thinking ...