Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#1590609 - 08/11/11 02:09 PM Internal Auditor - Loan Officer
SUSANE1 Offline
Platinum Poster
we are a small bank. Several employees have many jobs. We have a small firm come in and conduct an internal audit and compliance audit (audit schedule covers 3 years) and then we have the big "official" external audit once a year. We have also had a women part time, calling her our "internal auditor" who audits various procedures and some compliance issues. She is leaving, so boss wants me to become the "part time internal auditor". I am a consumer loan officer. After the loan is approved, that is the end of my duties in the lending area. I am not involved in operations. Can I be a lending officer and the "part time internal auditor" or is this a conflict?

Return to Top
Audit
#1590655 - 08/11/11 02:57 PM Re: Internal Auditor - Loan Officer SUSANE1
osucpa Offline
Diamond Poster
You raise many questions particularly since you are in a small bank. Please remember your outsourced internal audit and compliance function and external audit have a different purpose. Although, the external auditors must evaluate internal controls, they are issuing an opinion on your financial statements. With that being said, I believe you could perform some internal audit work namely in areas you do not work. I would approach your boss and offer the following recommendation. You could perform work in areas such as deposits, tellers and other areas and have the outsourced firm perform loan work.

Return to Top
#1590661 - 08/11/11 03:03 PM Re: Internal Auditor - Loan Officer SUSANE1
Many Hats Offline
Platinum Poster
Orlando, FL
I feel your pain. Thus the reason why my name is Many Hats.