Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#1648399 - 01/10/12 02:16 PM MSB Identification
Newly Southerner Offline
100 Club
Newly Southerner
How can we determine/identify if an account is an MSB account? And once we identify that it's an MSB account what are the procedures that we have to take as far as filing any paper work and how often do we review if the account still qualifies?

Return to Top
BSA/AML/CIP/OFAC Forum
#1648429 - 01/10/12 02:47 PM Re: MSB Identification Newly Southerner
Hrothgar Geiger Offline
10K Club
Hrothgar Geiger
Jersey Shore
What steps have you already taken?

For example, have you asked?

Return to Top
#1648436 - 01/10/12 02:55 PM Re: MSB Identification Newly Southerner
Newly Southerner Offline
100 Club
Newly Southerner
nothing, I'm new to BSA and I was asked to find out how many MSB accounts we have, need that info. for our risk assessment review.

Return to Top
#1648440 - 01/10/12 02:57 PM Re: MSB Identification Newly Southerner
BrendaC Offline
Power Poster
BrendaC
Sweet Home AL
When the MSB rules first came out, I took several steps to identify potential clients. I asked our branch offices to make a list of commercial clients depositing third-party checks for one week (they already knew most of them). We performed a system search for ACH related transactions which would indicate they were conducting funds transfer or money service business. We also performed a system search of account titles containing words such as "quick" and "cash".

These steps helped us identify most of the MSBs. The ones that filtered in later were customers that might not typically be thought of as an MSB such as furniture stores and bars that were cashing checks. Many of those were eventually identified by branch personnel that remembered their training and notified us of the third-party check deposits after our initial search.

Return to Top
#1648669 - 01/10/12 06:31 PM Re: MSB Identification Newly Southerner
Just Jean Offline
Platinum Poster
USA