Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Learn More - Click Here!

New Reply Thread Options
#1652195 - 01/18/12 05:52 PM HMDA Reporting Past Errors
Anonymous
Unregistered

So, after having a meeting yesterday to discuss our commercial loans applicability to HMDA reporting, it was discovered that our HMDA reporting has been handled very incorrectly for years.

Essentially, our first mortgage department is fine, but our consumer loan side has only been reporting home improvement loans. This means that none of the reportable 2nds have been reported, ever as far as we can tell.

This is my first year dealing with the HMDA process, so I'm glad I haven't missed this problem, but it's now mine to fix. My question is how to even approach correcting this! Based on the ammended report guidance, I can only correct back to 2010 at this point, but I know that 2011 will be reported incorrectly too if not adjusted in time.

I know that the correct thing to do is to get the corrections filed and face any resulting penalties, but have a feeling that others may want to let it slide and hope it's never caught. I have a feeling that when we do 2012 reporting and our # of loans reported more than doubles, a big red flag will go off somewhere. How this has never been noticed in an exam/audit before, I do not know.

Anyone had to deal with a large-scale resubmission before that has any recommendations? I'm guessing that for 2010 alone I've got at least 400 loans that will need to be reported...not looking forward to this one!

Return to Top Reply Quote Quick Reply Quick Quote
#1657023 - 01/27/12 03:02 PM Re: HMDA Reporting Past Errors Anonymous
Anonymous
Unregistered

Update: