Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options Tools
#1657 - 05/08/01 05:57 PM Truth in Savings
Bville Offline
Diamond Poster
Bville
Out West
In order to simplify the updating of new account disclosures for tiered rate accounts, my bank wants to list just the tiers along with a statement that says, "Interest rates and annual percentage yields are available at your local branch". I'm having trouble convincing them that they can't disclose tiered rates in that fashion.

A couple other questions have arisen including how close the language on fee disclosures has to match the language on the customer's periodic statement, and whether or not a disclosure is needed for check printing fees since customers are billed by the printer and not the bank.

I'm new in compliance and haven't yet developed a good feel for when I need to fight to get things done "my way" and when I can say "don't do that" and not be too concerned over whether or not my advice is taken. I welcome all words of wisdom.

Return to Top
General Discussion
#1658 - 05/08/01 06:52 PM Re: Truth in Savings
Princess Romeo Offline

Power Poster
Princess Romeo
Where the heart is
If you are talking about the actual Reg DD disclosure given at account opening, then Reg DD, 12 CFR section 230.4 (a)(2)(b)(1) states that rate information must include "annual percentage yield" and the "interest rate", using those terms, and for fixed rate accounts, the period of time the interest rate will be in effect.

Look at the commentary to this section for specific information about Tiered Accounts. Generally you need to state the interest rate and corresponding annual percentage yield for each specified balance level.

Now if you are talking about an advertisement, as long as you don't state an interest rate, then you don't need to state an APY.