Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#1709808 - 06/13/12 04:41 PM Reg E disputes
Banker Offline
100 Club
Southeastern US
I am new to compliance and am working on some training materials for Regulation E disputes. We ask our disputing customers to come in a fill out a form in order to dispute an item. I am aware of and have a copy of the "Written Statement of Unauthorized Debit". But, in our file, I am also finding "Cardholder Statement of Dispute". I am not sure if this is an outdated form or where this came from. Does anyone have any input on such a form? I am not sure if I just need to discard all of those forms and replace with the WSUD? Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Return to Top
eBanking / Technology
#1709826 - 06/13/12 04:51 PM Re: Reg E disputes Banker
BrianC Offline
Power Poster
BrianC
Illinois
The WSUD is a NACHA form the is required by NACHA if a customer is filing a claim of incorrect or unauthorized ACH debits. (Note this is a NACHA requirement and you cannot condition a Reg E claim decision based on whether or not the claim is in writing.) Your institution may have come up with a seperate form for debit card related disputes as VISA/MasterCard don't have a perscribed "form" for cardholders to file claims.

Return to Top
#1709829 - 06/13/12 04:54 PM Re: Reg E disputes Banker
Banker Offline
100 Club
Southeastern US
Ok, thanks! That clears it up for me. Yes, I understand that I can't put the condition on the claim based on whether it is in writing. But, we do ask the customer to come in a fill out the form. If they don't, we still accept the dispute.

Return to Top
#1709988 - 06/13/12 07:28 PM Re: Reg E disputes Banker
ahkcompliance Offline
Diamond Poster
Midwest
My error resoltuion is a little rusty..