Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#1710441 - 06/14/12 04:45 PM evaluation - picking comparables
TJ-QC Offline
sd
I'm struggling with the process of our internal evaluation staff requesting real estate agents to provide them w/comparables in certain areas. I've always assumed that when someone completes an evaluation they need to pick the comparables. Wouldn't this be a situation where an appraisal should be ordered because the evaluator doesn't really know the market or am I off base?

Return to Top
Lending Compliance
#1711088 - 06/15/12 07:36 PM Re: evaluation - picking comparables TJ-QC
Bankster Offline
Diamond Poster
Yinzerville, PA
The evaluator needs to be able to support his value, so it would make sense for him to collect comp information.

Return to Top
#1711374 - 06/18/12 05:56 PM Re: evaluation - picking comparables TJ-QC
HRH Okie Banker Offline
Power Poster
Oklahoma
I studied the December 2011 Guidance last week because I thought this question was rather interesting. It appears to me that getting these comparables could be documented as a source. I'm not so sure that it would be a violation. Study that guidance and tell me if anyone else see it the same way I do, specifically:

XIII. Evaluation Content

An evaluation should contain sufficient information detailing the analysis, assumptions, and conclusions to support the credit decision. An evaluation’s content should be documented in the credit file or reproducible. The evaluation should, at a minimum:
• Identify the location of the property.
• Provide a description of the property and its current and projected use.
• Provide an estimate of the property’s market value in its actual physical condition, use and zoning designation as of the effective date of the evaluation (that is, the date that the analysis was completed), with any limiting conditions.