BOL Conferences
Learn More - Click Here!

Thread Options
#1722842 - 07/24/12 06:52 PM Making Lending Compliance More Like Fast Food
Ishmael Offline
100 Club
Pequod
This will be a little jumbled:

I'm still fairly new to lending compliance (1.5 years in this role). Before that, I began as a processor, learned basic underwriting, and worked as an originator. Over the last 1.5 years, I've learned the lending regulations and am fairly confident that, given some time and the regulation itself (even better, an Internet connection) I can answer most of the questions that pop up.

My question is, now that I have a somewhat solid grounding, how do I help to improve the efficiency and compliance of my lending department? I think about fast food because, say what you will, but a Big Mac's a Big Mac whether you're in CA or NY. Analogously, a refinance transaction, for ex., should always have certain disclosures (federal & state-specific) in file. We always get the main disclosures, but we're often getting some disclosures at closing or otherwise scrambling around after post-closing reviews. It's very labor intensive. Maybe that's the nature of the beast.

I serve a pretty experienced staff, and while many of them know how to cook a hamburger, what's missing is the standardization, the button pushing. I think part of it is that, rather than handle a file soup-to-nuts, there's a processor, an underwriter, a closer, and a post-closer. Also there's the fact that I've been learning on the job. Also, there's a lot of disclosures to keep track of, more than before.

But some more experienced hands out there in compliance roles must have worked out systems to make sure things keep humming along, all while doing things the right way, no? I wonder if there are any simple ideas anyone would be willing to share? Maybe this is a search for the Holy Grail.

Return to Top
#1722896 - 07/24/12 08:15 PM Re: Making Lending Compliance More Like Fast Food Ishmael
AFaquir Offline
Platinum Poster