Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Thread Options
#1648792 - 01/10/12 07:35 PM HMDA question- owner occupancy
Dodge Offline
Gold Star
I'm sorry if this seems basic, but I want to make sure I'm on the same page.

1. Owner Occupancy- We have a couple who borrowed money for business expense. The parents of the son put their house up for collateral, but they did not go on the loan. We now are refinancing the loan. On the HMDA worksheet, the owner occupancy would be owner occupied? Correct. Even though the parents are not on the loan, their house will be reported (since its be refinance) and they own the house and occupy it.

Last edited by giants06; 01/10/12 07:36 PM.
Return to Top
HMDA

HMDA Academy
#1648838 - 01/10/12 07:55 PM Re: HMDA question- owner occupancy Dodge
#12 Offline
Diamond Poster
Yes, it is OWNER occupancy, not BORROWER occupancy.

Return to Top
#1648868 - 01/10/12 08:12 PM Re: HMDA question- owner occupancy Dodge
Dodge Offline
Gold Star
I'm fairly new to compliance and I saw a thread dated back in 2005 that stated "indicate whether the property to which the loan or application relates will be the borrower’s principal dwelling."

http://www.bankersonline.com/forum/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=321526

So had me 2nd guessing. Thank you

Return to Top
#1648873 - 01/10/12 08:31 PM Re: HMDA question- owner occupancy Dodge
complylady Offline
Platinum Poster
complylady
Michigan
It goes by owner occupancy, this is from Getting it Right:
Owner Occupancy. Indicate
whether the property to which the loan or loan application
relates is to be owner-occupied as a principal residence by entering the applicable code from the following:
Code 1—Owner-occupied as a principal dwelling
Code 2—Not owner-occupied as a principal dwelling
Code 3—Not applicable

Return to Top
#1648935 - 01/10/12 09:00 PM Re: HMDA question- owner occupancy Dodge
#12 Offline
Diamond Poster