Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#1738503 - 09/06/12 05:26 PM BSA Officer & teller work
BFrame Offline
Gold Star
BFrame
USA
I've been a BSA Officer for one year. My previous position with the bank was Branch Manager & Teller Trainer & CSR (opened new accounts).

I seem to remember from a trainer that perhaps a BSA Officer shouldn't be working the teller line.
As in all banks, there's a certain level of turn-over on the teller line. Then vacations, maternity leave, training out of the bank, illnesses are other reasons why the branches are short-handed.

In those cases, do you think it's acceptable for the BSA Officer to assist at a branch on an occasional basis to get through the tough times?

I still open accounts for customers as back-up for the CSR when she is out of the bank or at lunch. But I have not been on the teller line since becoming the BSA Officer.

We do have an assistant BSA Officer who submits CTRs. If I conducted a transaction that required a CTR, I wouldn't be the one ultimately submitting the CTR. So we do have segregation of duties.

Any comments are appreciated.

Return to Top
BSA/AML/CIP/OFAC Forum
#1738514 - 09/06/12 05:34 PM Re: BSA Officer & teller work BFrame
Elwood P. Dowd Offline
10K Club
Elwood P. Dowd
Next to Harvey
Quote:
...perhaps a BSA Officer shouldn't be working the teller line.

Last week I talked to a banker trying to deal with an examiner who said the BSA officer should not be a lender. The examiner cited it as an internal control issue. I thought it was poppycock.

Very few community financial institutions have a full time BSA Officer. Thus, as a rule, the BSA officer has simultaneous functional responsibiities within the institution. Obviously, the BSA Officer cannot be a part of the BSA audit. Aside from that I know of no "rules" that say he or she cannot occupy any other functional role.

Return to Top
#1738521 - 09/06/12 05:46 PM Re: BSA Officer & teller work BFrame
BFrame Offline
Gold Star
BFrame
USA