Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#1763747 - 12/04/12 07:02 PM CTR Aggregation --Disagree with Examienr
CantBeShocked Offline
Gold Star
MS
Can you please tell me how your CTR automated system or report aggregates for tracking required CTRs? Via SSN/EIN, via account number, via address, via CIF relationship, etc.

Our system (a well known national system) aggregates by EIN/SSN. We can also manually add "groups" of related customers when we are aware that one person conductions multiple transactions for multiple beneficiaries - for tracking purposes.

HOWEVER, an examiner is telling us that we should, at the very least, also aggregate by CIF relationship.

I have been processing and managing CTRs since 1992 and have never had this come up and have never had an examiner question how my automated system works.

Any thoughts ??
Last edited by The Real Mobo; 12/04/12 07:02 PM.

Return to Top
BSA/AML/CIP/OFAC Forum
#1763786 - 12/04/12 07:47 PM Re: CTR Aggregation --Disagree with Examienr CantBeShocked
John Burnett Offline
10K Club
John Burnett
Cape Cod
"CIF relationship" means different things to different people. Remember that there's no actual regulatory requirement that you aggregate unless you have the capacity to do it. Without knowing more about some of the aggregation scenarios your examiner thinks you ought to be catching, I can't offer you much of a response. Absent that additional information, my initial reaction is that the examiner is engaging in some creative (some would say "wishful") thinking, and hasn't given you any regulatory citation that backs up his/her suggestion.

So if you can illustrate the sorts of relationships the examiner thinks you ought to be setting up for aggregation, we can offer some more helpful reactions.
Bankers' Threads User #8

Return to Top
#1763796 - 12/04/12 08:19 PM Re: CTR Aggregation --Disagree with Examienr CantBeShocked
CantBeShocked Offline
Gold Star
MS