Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#1823716 - 06/14/13 05:12 PM Loan Fraud Audit?
robby Offline
I hope to get some insight from veteran auditors here since I am completely new to both loans and auditing.

I have done many great things for my employer in my 8 years investigating cases of card fraud, check forgery, and online scams usually involving counterfeit checks.

My boss has asked that I begin auditing mortgages/loans to detect instances of loan fraud. I want to do a great job, but have zero experience in either loans or auditing.

My initial thoghts involved sampling loans/mortgages to find these things to warrant further investigation:

-Forged signatures and/or adding joint applicants without consent, especially on applications not submitted in person.
-Late or missed payments shortly after the loan/mortgage was granted.
-Inflated home appraisal values or vehicle loans granted for more than vehicle's value.
-Falsified paystubs or proof of employment.
-Unusual applications before a planned bankruptcy.
-Loan add-on's performed electronically, especially at ATMs on dormant accounts or those accounts whose owners may be at risk of "elder abuse".

Am I headed in the right direction? What else should I be looking for? If someone has info and wishes not to post publicly, please PM me anything that may help.

To my knowledge, we have not incurred large (known)losses from fraud on loans, but could possibly be doing more to detect potential fraud. Thanks so much.

Return to Top
Audit
#1823778 - 06/14/13 06:28 PM Re: Loan Fraud Audit? robby
Hobbes Offline
100 Club
Hobbes
On a sled
You are headed in the right direction. I have been auditing loans for years and have seen more than a few fraudulent loans, especially on the mortgage side.

It looks like you are looking for both internal fraud and external fraud.