Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#1832126 - 07/11/13 05:13 PM Refinance of lease-purchase
Ski Offline
Platinum Poster
South Louisiana
Customer had a lease-purchase agreement with LLC 1-4 family property owner. Customer applies to Bank to pay out (purchase) LLC for 1-4 family property.

Does the payout of the lease-purchase agreement constitute a refinance for HMDA purposes? HMDA GIR states "A refinancing is any dwelling secured loan that replaces and satisfies another dwelling secured loan to the same borrower".

Does the lease-purchase agreement constitute a loan?

LLC issued an "Act of cash sale". The bank required a downpayment as if it was a purchase situation.

I'm trying to make sure we report this correctly.

Thanks, in advance.

Return to Top
HMDA

HMDA Academy
#1832183 - 07/11/13 06:15 PM Re: Refinance of lease-purchase Ski
raitchjay Online
Power Poster
OK
Disclaimer: i have zero experience with your scenario, but it sounds to me like your borrower does not yet, without your loan, fully "own" the home. It sounds like your loan will actually purchase the home (transfer ownership from the LLC to your borrower). Hopefully, this helps and hopefully, i'm correct.

Return to Top
#1832889 - 07/15/13 03:52 PM Re: Refinance of lease-purchase Ski
Dan Persfull Offline
10K Club
Dan Persfull
Bloomington, IN
We treat these transactions as refinancing. Some treat them as purchases. However the borrower has obtained ownership to the property, although they may not have full title, through the contract and the contract is secured by the dwelling. In addition even though you may treat this as a purchase for HMDA reporting for Reg. Z purposes you have to treat it as a refinancing and provide rescission. See the Commentary to 1026.2(a)(24).

Return to Top
#1832938 - 07/15/13 05:36 PM Re: Refinance of lease-purchase Ski
hgliii Offline
Platinum Poster