Skip to content
BOL Conferences Top Gun 23
Thread Options
#1857972 - 10/03/13 02:00 PM RSSD #
Calmeida12 Offline
100 Club
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 249
Where can we find or get the RSSD # for a specific branch? Our auditors recommended that we list the RSSD # for each branch when we do our CTRs. I asked the person that completes the Call report and she didn't know that each branch had to have a RSSD #.

Return to Top
BSA/AML/CIP/OFAC Forum
#1857981 - 10/03/13 02:06 PM Re: RSSD # Calmeida12
Reads Regs Offline
Diamond Poster
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,296
_________________________
Opinions expressed are my own and not necessarily those of my employer. They are not legal advice.

Return to Top
#1857996 - 10/03/13 02:20 PM Re: RSSD # Calmeida12
Calmeida12 Offline
100 Club
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 249
Thank you. I was able to find most of our branches, except for two. Who would I contact to get a RSSD # assigned?

Return to Top
#1858027 - 10/03/13 02:57 PM Re: RSSD # Calmeida12
Cape Codder Offline
Gold Star
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 413
I went through our Accounting Dept to have this done for us. Apparently a form is supposed to be filed with the Fed Reserve whenever a new location is established; it's my understanding that the Fed assigns the RSSD number then passes the data to the National Information Center. It worked for us (and several incorrect branch listings were updated at the same time.)
_________________________
Nothing difficult is ever easy.

Return to Top
#1858044 - 10/03/13 03:10 PM Re: RSSD # Calmeida12
Colorado Jack Offline
New Poster
Colorado Jack
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 19
duh
you can look up this information at: http://www.ffiec.gov/nicpubweb/nicweb/SearchForm.aspx

Return to Top
#1858189 - 10/03/13 06:26 PM Re: RSSD # Calmeida12
Calmeida12 Offline
100 Club
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 249
Does the RSSD # assigned to the bank is that the same as the one for the main branch?

Return to Top
#1858200 - 10/03/13 06:52 PM Re: RSSD # Calmeida12
CrashDavis Offline
Gold Star
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 283
No, each branch has their own RSSD #

Return to Top
#1858297 - 10/03/13 08:45 PM Re: RSSD # Calmeida12
John Burnett Offline
10K Club
John Burnett
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,876
Cape Cod
CUs, apparently, only have a single RSSD; banks are supposed to have separate numbers for their branches. When a branch is transferred in a merger or acquisition, or a partial sale, it keeps the same number, I believe.
_________________________
John S. Burnett
BankersOnline.com
Fighting for Compliance since 1976
Bankers' Threads User #8

Return to Top
#1858368 - 10/04/13 11:46 AM Re: RSSD # Cape Codder
Elwood P. Dowd Offline
10K Club
Elwood P. Dowd
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 21,939
Next to Harvey
Quote:
Apparently a form is supposed to be filed with the Fed Reserve whenever a new location is established


Cape Codder,

Would you mind asking your accounting folks what the name/number of that form is?
_________________________
In this world you must be oh so smart or oh so pleasant. Well, for years I was smart. I recommend pleasant.

Return to Top
#1858538 - 10/04/13 03:00 PM Re: RSSD # Elwood P. Dowd
renniks Offline
Diamond Poster
renniks
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 2,162
New England
I believe the form is an FRY-10. I am not sure if it only applies to state member banks though......

Return to Top
#1858561 - 10/04/13 03:14 PM Re: RSSD # renniks
Elwood P. Dowd Offline
10K Club
Elwood P. Dowd
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 21,939
Next to Harvey
Thank you.

Determining why some branches have RSSDs and some don't has become one of the mysteries of life. Of more practical concern is how a bank could request that they be assigned.

I contacted the NIC as long ago as February without success...maybe a FOIA request would do it?
_________________________
In this world you must be oh so smart or oh so pleasant. Well, for years I was smart. I recommend pleasant.

Return to Top
#1858689 - 10/04/13 05:33 PM Re: RSSD # Calmeida12
John Burnett Offline
10K Club
John Burnett
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,876
Cape Cod
_________________________
John S. Burnett
BankersOnline.com
Fighting for Compliance since 1976
Bankers' Threads User #8

Return to Top
#1858692 - 10/04/13 05:34 PM Re: RSSD # Calmeida12
rlcarey Online
10K Club
rlcarey
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 80,393
Galveston, TX
I read the instructions - I really didn't see where this form was mentioned as an appropriate from to file to get a RSSD# assigned to a current branch location.
_________________________
The opinions expressed here should not be construed to be those of my employer: PPDocs.com

Return to Top
#1858709 - 10/04/13 05:40 PM Re: RSSD # Calmeida12
John Burnett Offline
10K Club
John Burnett
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,876
Cape Cod
I wonder if the issuing of a new RSSD number is an outcome from the filing. It shouldn't be if the filing is about a merger, since RSSD numbers should already have been assigned (they stay with the office regardless of ownership, I'm told).
_________________________
John S. Burnett
BankersOnline.com
Fighting for Compliance since 1976
Bankers' Threads User #8

Return to Top
#1858746 - 10/04/13 06:26 PM Re: RSSD # Calmeida12
newbietoo Offline
100 Club
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 201
I too, wasn't aware of the branch RSSD until we got a notification from our core provider for an update to the system this week. I was able to find our branch RSSD #'s (even from a recent acquisition). I am not able to confirm with FinCEN about back filing (government shutdown), so we are just going to go from this point foward. One question, why would a branch have 2 different RSSD #'s? Does it matter which one we use? We have 21 branches in all and a couple of the branches actually show 2 entries for a RSSD #.

Return to Top
#1858758 - 10/04/13 06:50 PM Re: RSSD # newbietoo
Elwood P. Dowd Offline
10K Club
Elwood P. Dowd
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 21,939
Next to Harvey
I tried again...my e-mail to the NIC:

Sir or Madam,

Some branch offices do not have RSSD numbers. As I’m certain you have become aware, they are now a standard requirement for reports filed with the Financial Crimes Enforcement Network.

If one or more of a bank’s branches does not have an RSSD how would the bank go about requesting that they be assigned?

I am familiar with how to look them up…that is not my question.

Thank you.

Ken


Their response:

Hi Golliher,
You need to contact the Reserve Bank for your district (Atlanta Reserve Bank, Dallas Reserve Bank.. ). The staff at the Federal Reserve Bank will help you to open the branch on NIC and supply the RSSD ID.

Thanks for your inquiry.


I'm not certain the FRY-10 is the answer... I can't say that I read the instructions like Randy did, but I scanned for RSSD and found nothing. Assuming this rather charming response is correct, the FRB does know what the answer is.
_________________________
In this world you must be oh so smart or oh so pleasant. Well, for years I was smart. I recommend pleasant.

Return to Top
#1858766 - 10/04/13 07:02 PM Re: RSSD # Calmeida12
Calmeida12 Offline
100 Club
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 249
I emailed the NIC and got exactly the same email back from them!

Return to Top

Moderator:  Andy_Z