Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#1881009 - 12/23/13 06:21 PM Gun Shops and Gun Dealers
NewTooBSA Offline
Platinum Poster
Texas
Please tell me some of the reasons that you have given management as to why these type of businesses are considered "high risk" even when they are not mentioned on the list in the FFIEC exam manual. As a seasoned BSA professional I know the reasons but wanted to see what others have told management to make them understand why if we bank this type of business, we need to do have a program in place specific to the type of EDD required "prior" to marketing them.

Return to Top
BSA/AML/CIP/OFAC Forum
#1881076 - 12/23/13 08:13 PM Re: Gun Shops and Gun Dealers NewTooBSA
Elwood P. Dowd Offline
10K Club
Elwood P. Dowd
Next to Harvey
Prior thread. Another.

If there is any consensus that a gun store is automatically high risk for money laundering, there has been no mention of it in this forum for the last 5 years.

Return to Top
#1881516 - 12/26/13 09:08 PM Re: Gun Shops and Gun Dealers NewTooBSA
WonderWoman Offline
Diamond Poster
WonderWoman
gone fishin'
I know the nature of selling guns can send a shivver down a spine ... and an examiner may look at it a little deeper ... but if it is a legitimate company, they are regulated with extreme scrutiny. I don't consider them any higher than any other business, as long as there are no other red flags (similar to other businesses) ... example - if they only sold guns online, I may take an extra peek.

Return to Top
#1881556 - 12/26/13 10:57 PM Re: Gun Shops and Gun Dealers NewTooBSA
EB, CAMS Offline
100 Club
EB, CAMS
flyover country
I've seen situations where a gun shop is considered higher risk for the transaction activity on the account. For example, it may take in alot of cash, there by making it a cash intensive business. Just a thought...

Return to Top
#1882284 - 12/31/13 08:45 PM Re: Gun Shops and Gun Dealers NewTooBSA
NewTooBSA Offline
Platinum Poster
Texas