Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Learn More - Click Here!

Thread Options
#1959311 - 09/04/14 03:55 PM TIL & General Compliance Question
Nids Offline
New Poster
In a nut shell, 8 months ago I was told I was going to be the compliance officer with absolutely no training. Everything I have learned has been basically self-taught so I apologize if these are basic questions.

1. We have a loan that is going from a fixed rate to a variable rate. The borrower would like to modify the loan prior to the change to a variable rate into a fixed rate loan. This will be a loan modification and not a refi, correct?

2. If it is a modification, no new disclosures are required, correct?

3. Our closer thought just an effective interest rate disclosure was needed to disclose the rate. Then she thought we may need a final TIL instead. Everything I read says no disclosures are needed on a note modification. Can someone please clarify what is needed?

As for learning more; any suggestions on what I can do? My company is on a spending freeze so it needs to be inexpensive. I have participated in webinars on the new CFPB rules, but are there any basic lending classes anyone would recommend so I can understand lending in general? I've been reading information on ECOA, TIL and RESPA, but it is a lot to take in and not always easy to understand.

Thank you!

Return to Top
#1959340 - 09/04/14 04:38 PM Re: TIL & General Compliance Question Nids
Dan Persfull Offline
10K Club
Dan Persfull
Bloomington, IN
1. Adding a variable rate feature that was not previously disclosed constitutes a refinancing and must be disclosed as such. Commentary 1026.20(a)(3)(b).

2. See #1.

3. See #1.

Contact your state association, take advantage of on-line training sources such as BVS if available, stay active with BOL. If the bank is serious about compliance they need to lift their spending freeze and allow you to attend some schooling.

Return to Top