Skip to content
GeoDataVision
Thread Options
#1981919 - 12/09/14 06:52 PM New FFIEC Geocoding
Ryan Yager Offline
New Poster
Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 21
IL
Has anyone else been using the new geocoding site on FFIEC.gov ??

I think it is awful. I am finding around half of the addresses I was before.

Return to Top
CRA
#1981943 - 12/09/14 08:03 PM Re: New FFIEC Geocoding Ryan Yager
Live&Learn Offline
100 Club
Live&Learn
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 241
South
Yes, lenders here have already seen incorrect geocodes.
For instance, a business right in the middle of town and it's saying it's in another town...
_________________________
The worst question is the one that goes unasked.

Return to Top
#1981948 - 12/09/14 08:12 PM Re: New FFIEC Geocoding Ryan Yager
Kathleen O. Blanchard Online

10K Club
Kathleen O. Blanchard
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 21,285
Are banks reporting these results to the FFIEC so that they can take action?
_________________________
Kathleen O. Blanchard, CRCM "Kaybee"
HMDA/CRA Training/Consulting/Mapping
The HMDA Academy
www.kaybeescomplianceinsights.com

Return to Top
#1981949 - 12/09/14 08:17 PM Re: New FFIEC Geocoding Ryan Yager
Live&Learn Offline
100 Club
Live&Learn
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 241
South
Yes, we sent an error report to them.
_________________________
The worst question is the one that goes unasked.

Return to Top
#1981973 - 12/09/14 08:58 PM Re: New FFIEC Geocoding Ryan Yager
Pale Rider Offline
10K Club
Pale Rider
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 34,318
under the Lone Star
The site is down currently, for "unscheduled" maintenance.....
_________________________
Societies that do not find work in and of itself "pleasing to God and requisite to Man," tend to be highly corrupt.


Return to Top
#1982169 - 12/10/14 05:16 PM Re: New FFIEC Geocoding Ryan Yager
Pale Rider Offline
10K Club
Pale Rider
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 34,318
under the Lone Star
Still down as of noon today....is this going to be another Marketplace/Affordable Care Act type rollout?
_________________________
Societies that do not find work in and of itself "pleasing to God and requisite to Man," tend to be highly corrupt.


Return to Top
#1982171 - 12/10/14 05:18 PM Re: New FFIEC Geocoding Ryan Yager
Kathleen O. Blanchard Online

10K Club
Kathleen O. Blanchard
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 21,285
I just used it.
_________________________
Kathleen O. Blanchard, CRCM "Kaybee"
HMDA/CRA Training/Consulting/Mapping
The HMDA Academy
www.kaybeescomplianceinsights.com

Return to Top
#1982177 - 12/10/14 05:26 PM Re: New FFIEC Geocoding Ryan Yager
Pale Rider Offline
10K Club
Pale Rider
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 34,318
under the Lone Star
Ah, my link must have been taking me to the site as of yesterday KB. I have tried a number of addresses and it seems to be working fine today.
_________________________
Societies that do not find work in and of itself "pleasing to God and requisite to Man," tend to be highly corrupt.


Return to Top
#1982492 - 12/11/14 05:04 PM Re: New FFIEC Geocoding Ryan Yager
Key Lime Pie Offline
100 Club
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 108
Louisville, KY
We are also having trouble mapping addresses! We have a lot of newly developed areas and the old system used to put you into the center of the zip code if it couldn't locate the exact address. That was great beacuase it gets you pretty close to where you can find the property. Now it just seems to put you in the center of the city. It's nearly impossible to find a property any more. Maybe I'm missing something.

Return to Top
#1982509 - 12/11/14 05:23 PM Re: New FFIEC Geocoding Ryan Yager
Kathleen O. Blanchard Online

10K Club
Kathleen O. Blanchard
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 21,285
I hated those old maps. I guess it is personal preference.
_________________________
Kathleen O. Blanchard, CRCM "Kaybee"
HMDA/CRA Training/Consulting/Mapping
The HMDA Academy
www.kaybeescomplianceinsights.com

Return to Top
#1982521 - 12/11/14 05:42 PM Re: New FFIEC Geocoding Ryan Yager
rlcarey Online
10K Club
rlcarey
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 79,951
Galveston, TX
The new map you can scroll around with ease. Google map the property or pull the map from the appraisal and match to the FFIEC map - it is much, much easier in my opinion.
_________________________
The opinions expressed here should not be construed to be those of my employer: PPDocs.com

Return to Top
#1982541 - 12/11/14 06:20 PM Re: New FFIEC Geocoding Ryan Yager
CompliantOkie Offline
Gold Star
CompliantOkie
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 423
OOOOOOklahoma
I'm actually impressed with the new map. There are very few addresses that I wasn't able to map with the new system. And I agree with Randy that the scrolling is much easier.

My only gripe is that FFIEC didn't inform anyone this was coming so my CRA software provider was left scrambling.

Return to Top
#1982662 - 12/11/14 11:41 PM Re: New FFIEC Geocoding Ryan Yager
CompBanker0613 Offline
Member
CompBanker0613
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 63
I am also liking the new featur. Although, has anyone figured out how to print without it cutting the page off? The old way had a print option now I just use File > Print in Internet Explorer. I'm finding it tends to cut-off the right-side of my map.
_________________________
"I'm not sure why they call their customers infidels, but I doubt that's important"

Return to Top
#1982681 - 12/12/14 01:15 PM Re: New FFIEC Geocoding Ryan Yager
NMB Offline
Gold Star
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 255
Southeast Michigan
Use your print function or page layout to print it landscape instead of portrait.

I with I could find a way to move the demographics screen (with tract income level)to the margin, under the tract information, so it isn't right on top of the map.
_________________________
My comments and opinions are my own, not my employer's.

Return to Top
#1982730 - 12/12/14 03:10 PM Re: New FFIEC Geocoding Ryan Yager
CompliantOkie Offline
Gold Star
CompliantOkie
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 423
OOOOOOklahoma
I noticed yesterday that they had added a print function on the Census Demographic box. It prints out a whole page of the stats. I still haven't gotten the map to print but I'll try NMB's suggestion!

Return to Top
#1982738 - 12/12/14 03:15 PM Re: New FFIEC Geocoding Ryan Yager
JWills, CRCM Offline
Diamond Poster
JWills, CRCM
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 1,759
The Mitten State
I actually like the new site, I was able to get both to print out.
_________________________
Nonsense wakes up the brain cells.

--Dr. Seuss

Return to Top
#1982765 - 12/12/14 04:06 PM Re: New FFIEC Geocoding Ryan Yager
Live&Learn Offline
100 Club
Live&Learn
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 241
South
We are still having problems.. some branches had to have firefox browser downloaded to even open the page...I guess our Internet Explorer can't be updated...

Then there are still addresses in our area that are coding incorrectly.
_________________________
The worst question is the one that goes unasked.

Return to Top
#1982940 - 12/12/14 11:37 PM Re: New FFIEC Geocoding Ryan Yager
TMatt87 Offline
Diamond Poster
TMatt87
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 1,935
Idaho
I've found that when trying to type in address numbers using my 10 key on the side of the keyboard, about half the time it moves the map around rather than type the number. Extremely frustrating.
_________________________
All opinions are my own, not my employer's

Return to Top
#1982950 - 12/13/14 01:19 PM Re: New FFIEC Geocoding Ryan Yager
rlcarey Online
10K Club
rlcarey
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 79,951
Galveston, TX
Turn your NUM LOCK on smile
_________________________
The opinions expressed here should not be construed to be those of my employer: PPDocs.com

Return to Top
#1983465 - 12/16/14 08:18 PM Re: New FFIEC Geocoding Ryan Yager
TMatt87 Offline
Diamond Poster
TMatt87
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 1,935
Idaho
Unfortunately, that doesn't appear to be the issue.
_________________________
All opinions are my own, not my employer's

Return to Top
#1983476 - 12/16/14 08:38 PM Re: New FFIEC Geocoding JWills, CRCM
Tennismom Offline
Platinum Poster
Tennismom
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 771
Originally Posted By: JWills
I actually like the new site, I was able to get both to print out.


Same here!

Return to Top
#1983548 - 12/16/14 10:51 PM Re: New FFIEC Geocoding TMatt87
TMatt87 Offline
Diamond Poster
TMatt87
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 1,935
Idaho
Originally Posted By: TMatt87
I've found that when trying to type in address numbers using my 10 key on the side of the keyboard, about half the time it moves the map around rather than type the number. Extremely frustrating.


I figured out why I was having this problem. If my mouse was hovering over the map, then the 2,4,6, and 8 keys would move the map the corresponding direction.
_________________________
All opinions are my own, not my employer's

Return to Top
#1983552 - 12/16/14 11:00 PM Re: New FFIEC Geocoding Ryan Yager
rlcarey Online
10K Club
rlcarey
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 79,951
Galveston, TX
I was just being a (well you know me - an intelligent donkey - let's say) but I noticed the same thing today and I had a hard time figuring it out also. But you are correct. Actually only the 0 and 5 works with the curser over the map for me --- go figure.
_________________________
The opinions expressed here should not be construed to be those of my employer: PPDocs.com

Return to Top
#1995198 - 02/11/15 02:27 PM Re: New FFIEC Geocoding Ryan Yager
Wizkid Offline
New Poster
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 2
Missouri
If you click your mouse on the white area on the left side of the page, it should let you type your numbers. I was having the same issue and haven't since I click in the white area after returning to the website for each geocode while Testing my data.

Return to Top
#1996559 - 02/18/15 03:15 PM Re: New FFIEC Geocoding Ryan Yager
CompliantOkie Offline
Gold Star
CompliantOkie
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 423
OOOOOOklahoma
Don't know how recent the addition, but there is now a print button to the right of the search button. Opens a new window with the map as well as the demographic info. Prints very nicely on 2 pages with no adjustments. Really nice update!

On the old geocode system, if FFIEC couldn't find an address it would center to the middle of the zip code. To my knowledge the new system does not do that. Really made it handy for searching an address using cross streets etc. Maybe they'll add that next.

Return to Top