BOL Conferences
Learn More - Click Here!

Thread Options
#1986141 - 01/02/15 09:57 PM WiFi Question
beegee Offline
Diamond Poster
South
Hey guys,

We have AT&T DSL internet and AT&T landline. $100+ monthly.

We have DISH but its not connected to the internet or anything. $67 monthly

We have 3 iPhones with 10 GB of data. $200+ monthly.

However - we don't have WiFi. Best Buy recommended we buy the 802.11N AT&T wireless router with DSL modem.

We are low tech and wanted to see if anyone had any insight into that router giving us WiFi for our laptop (Toshiba Satellite), DISH, and iPhones?

Also - any thoughts on how to reduce the monthly expense?

thanks for any feedback!
Last edited by beegee; 01/02/15 09:58 PM.
Return to Top
Chat! - BOL Watercooler
#1986151 - 01/02/15 10:35 PM Re: WiFi Question beegee
SeekingKnowledge Offline
100 Club
SeekingKnowledge
SC
I have no experience with that specific router but the N technology is the standard wireless these days. As far as thoughts on reducing bills, if you have competitors in your area for your tv and internet then all you have to do is call and tell them you are disconnecting their service. You will be transferred to a retention department where the really nice people will offer you better deals and perks than you have now. I do this annually with both internet and tv and always get a better deal. Heck, even if you don't have competitors just tell them you are disconnecting and they will probably offer you something. For home phone, look into Magic Jack or Ooma as alternatives to your local monopoly.

Return to Top
#1986152 - 01/02/15 10:46 PM Re: WiFi Question beegee
beegee Offline
Diamond Poster
South
Thanks! Do you know if we switch from AT&T to cablelinx will that router still work? Are the routers just standard or are they specific to your provider?

Return to Top
#1986153 - 01/02/15 10:47 PM Re: WiFi Question beegee
HappyGilmore Offline
10K Club
Pulling people out of the ditc...