Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#199613 - 06/11/04 07:21 PM Dormant Account Audit
Anonymous
Unregistered

Hi I am new to auditing and am conducting a dormant account audit. What is the general standard for the amount of time until an account becomes inactive and then dormant? This bank has 48 months for inactive and 60 for dormant. This seems like way to long of a time to me...

Please let me know what you all think.

Thanks!!

Return to Top
Audit
#199614 - 06/11/04 07:34 PM Re: Dormant Account Audit
Georgia Golfer Offline
Gold Star
Georgia Golfer
1st Tee
12 months from the last transaction for inactive accts & 18 months until they reach dormant status. In Florida, accounts that are 60 months since the last transaction are not dormant, they are abandoned and are to be escheated to the state.

Return to Top
#199615 - 06/11/04 07:43 PM Re: Dormant Account Audit
Jokerman Offline
10K Club
Quote:

This seems like way too long of a time to me...

That is much too long in my opinion. Twelve months for transaction accounts and 24 months for savings accounts seems to be common.

Return to Top
#199616 - 06/11/04 08:38 PM Re: Dormant Account Audit
QCL Offline
Power Poster
QCL
NW IL
6 months checking, 24 months savings.
Escheat after 60 months in Illinois.

Return to Top
#199617 - 06/14/04 04:49 PM Re: Dormant Account Audit
Anonymous
Unregistered

First thing to do is look at your state's abandonment period - usually found somewhere on the State's website - then determine what is right for your own institution - NJ has a 3 year abandonment period for DDA & Sav accounts, therefore, we do inactive after 1 year and dormant after 2 years -

Return to Top
#199618 - 06/15/04 07:19 PM Re: Dormant Account Audit
Anonymous
Unregistered