Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#1999272 - 03/02/15 08:53 PM Decisions Not to File SAR
PrimeTime Offline
100 Club
PrimeTime
Due to the fact that I'm a newbie and have never been through an exam, I'm looking for some guidance regarding the decision not to file a SAR, as I'd rather know sooner than later and not get slammed!

My question is regarding automated BSA/AML systems, and the cases/alerts/whatever you call them that they create. By clearing/working these alerts, the operators are placing notes on the alert stating why the activity isn't suspicious if they are "waiving" the alert, and including an Excel spreadsheet when applicable. Is this considered a documented decision not to file a SAR? My assumption is yes, because you've explained why you decided to waive the alert, you've documented the reasons why you don't deem the activity to be suspicious, and you've shown that you've completed your due diligence.

The only thing I could possibly see going wrong with this is an examiner wanting memos in which these decisions are documented. I guess this may be one of those scenarios in which it's left up to opinion, however I was looking to get some feedback on the process in which other people are documenting their decisions not to file.

Thanks!

CAMS

Return to Top
BSA/AML/CIP/OFAC Forum
#1999279 - 03/02/15 09:05 PM Re: Decisions Not to File SAR PrimeTime
Elwood P. Dowd Offline
10K Club
Elwood P. Dowd
Next to Harvey
In your shoes, I would say that a simple "alert" does not suggest your bank ever considered filing a SAR. It prompted some enhanced due diligence, but once the activity was identified as the normal course of the customer's business the investigation was stopped. As you say, the activity simply was not suspicious.