Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#2012078 - 05/05/15 03:22 PM Denial Reason/Switch Product
Kisha Offline
100 Club
I'm not quite sure where this fits. I think Fair Lending so here goes. I'm no compliance expert so I need some guidance.

We had a customer apply for a loan in the name of a business to refinance their farm and upgrade equipment. It turns out this property is not operated as a farm and the denial reason of "not a farm" was given and the lender referred it on to our mortgage department.

I don't think this is a fair reason to deny considering we do non-farm loans in our bank. However, I do see the lender's point of letting them know she cannot do anything for him as it needs passed on to another department.

Can we deny for this reason or at least reword to something like "credit not granted on terms requested" or can we simply refer this request to our mortgage department without denying it?

Is there anything in the regulation that would address something like this? Denial vs. referral?

Thank you, in advance, for your help.

Return to Top
Fair Lending
#2012367 - 05/06/15 03:00 PM Re: Denial Reason/Switch Product Kisha
David Dickinson Offline
10K Club
David Dickinson
Central City, NE
People don't apply to departments. They apply to the bank. If the specific lender needs to forward this to a different department, they should do so. To do otherwise is horrible customer service (in my opinion) and doesn't meet regulatory requirements.

If the bank is willing to do this loan - even in a different department - why would you deny the request? If the bank can't do the loan (in any department), then state why specifically. "Credit not granted on terms requested" is not a specific reason. What terms can't be granted?

Simply forward the application to the mortgage department and let them evaluate it.

Return to Top
#2012376 - 05/06/15 03:12 PM Re: Denial Reason/Switch Product Kisha
Rocky P Online
Power Poster
Florida