Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#2028880 - 07/22/15 04:46 PM Account review time frame
Patrick Lee Offline
Rosemead, CA
I am fairly new to BSA and would like to know what other is doing or what is the practice on reviewing an account that is concluded with no suspicious activities and no SAR filing.

The previous BSA officer's practice was if the last review of an account is within one year and is being appeared on another exception after that, he does not review the account again unless it has passed the one year mark or approach to the one year mark. These accounts are the ones that have no suspicious activities and no SAR filing.

The account that has been identified with SAR filing is being reviewed every 90 days.

I understand this is a risk base approach, but nevertheless I am not sure whether this is a good practice. If anyone can share what is their current practice. It will be great.

Return to Top
BSA/AML/CIP/OFAC Forum
#2028892 - 07/22/15 05:07 PM Re: Account review time frame Patrick Lee
PrimeTime Offline
100 Club
PrimeTime
If I'm understanding correctly, the previous BSA Officer saw a customer on an exception (I'm interpreting this as an alert or indicator of potential suspicious activity), and does not review it if he/she has already reviewed it within the past year?

I would absolutely advise against that, as a customer's behavior and activity can certainly change, and although the exception isn't always going to be a true positive, it should absolutely still be reviewed in a reasonably timely manner. Depending on what other things there are to review at your institution however, the approach may be taken that the other monitoring devices employed are able to more adequately detect potential suspicious activity.

Our practice is if it appears on an alert, exception, case, report, whatever monitoring device we have, we review it to ensure that we either have a false positive, or report the suspicious activity.

CAMS

Return to Top