Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options Tools
#2060998 - 01/28/16 05:45 PM Bank Quality Control
LisSinToMe Offline
New Poster
Does anyone work where the bank has a Quality Control Dept? I am proposing to establish a QC Dept where I work because we are growing so fast. My background is solely in Mortgage QC and I need info about any other requirements, best practices...We do not have an internal audit division or anyone else for me to ask. We are FDIC regulated

Return to Top
General Discussion
#2061078 - 01/28/16 08:34 PM Re: Bank Quality Control LisSinToMe
osucpa Offline
Diamond Poster
Topics can have a lot of different meanings. Could you give some detail as to the purpose of the Quality Control Department and what areas of the bank it would cover.

Return to Top
#2061217 - 01/29/16 03:37 PM Re: Bank Quality Control LisSinToMe
LisSinToMe Offline
New Poster
I mainly have worked in mortgage and lending. I know QC for mortgage is REQUIRED by either the GSEs (HUD, Fannie) and/or any aggregator you sell to as a correspondent..

1. Do banks have any type of QC requirements relating to savings, deposits or consumer lending? If so, where would I find the requirements and best practices?

2 I know HUD has servicing QC requirements on FHA loans but are there any servicing QC requirements on a bank's loan portfolio?

3. Is there any good way to "sell" the idea of having a QC Dept or someone who is the "QC Director"? We currently have an external vendor doing the bare minimum for our mortgage Post-Closing QC but the mortgage division basically oversees this and all results go to the Mortgage Division VP who is also an EVP of the bank (Bank Lending).

We recently had our FDIC Safety and Soundness and a Compliance exam both of which we passed with flying colors so the response I generally get is "not a needed" function.

Return to Top
#2061227 - 01/29/16 04:03 PM Re: Bank Quality Control LisSinToMe
Rocky P Offline
Power Poster
Florida