Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#206198 - 06/30/04 07:56 PM RESPA - Section 8 - Realtor & Buyer bonuses
Anonymous
Unregistered

Sorry.....gotta do this one anonymously.......

I hate Section 8!! And this smells of it!

IYO, would it be OK to do the following......
  • Pair each lending representative with 4 or 5 realtors, of their choice, to work with.
  • For each closed loan with a "chosen" realtor, home buyer receives $250 gift certificate.
  • Each realtor that closes a loan receives a $25 gift certficate.

Whad'ya think?

Return to Top
Lending Compliance
#206199 - 06/30/04 07:58 PM Re: RESPA - Section 8 - Realtor & Buyer bonuses
beaten blind Offline
Gold Star
the Bat Cave
Sounds like a thing of value to me. As a realtor myself, I wouldn't accept the gift certificate. As a banker also, I wouldn't give the gift certificate. Just my thoughts.

Return to Top
#206200 - 06/30/04 08:01 PM Re: RESPA - Section 8 - Realtor & Buyer bonuses
Andy_Z Offline
10K Club
Andy_Z
On the Net
Smells pretty strong to me.
Rules and Regs minus Relationships equals Resentment and Rebellion. John Maxwell

Return to Top
#206201 - 06/30/04 09:15 PM Re: RESPA - Section 8 - Realtor & Buyer bonuses
Anonymous
Unregistered

I inquired about this in more detail from the person here at my bank who wants to do this.

In this case, the bank would be paying the realtor $25 for a referral.

An unnamed big national bank is doing this very thing!!
This is a prime example of the headaches that compliance professionals have to deal with. i.e. "well, so-and-so is doing it. Why can't we?" (whining tone of voice....like a child).

Return to Top
#206202 - 06/30/04 09:19 PM Re: RESPA - Section 8 - Realtor & Buyer bonuses
beaten blind Offline
Gold Star
the Bat Cave