Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#2068946 - 03/14/16 05:30 PM ECOA 30 Day Rule for Adverse Action
tgpitts11 Offline
1002.9(a)(I)

(a) Notification of action taken, ECOA notice, and statement of specific reasons. (1) When notification is required. A creditor shall notify an applicant of action taken within:

(i) 30 days after receiving a completed application concerning the creditor's approval of, counteroffer to, or adverse action on the application;

I'm new to this rule, so I'm trying to make sure I understand it. A lender has 30 days to evaluate an application and accept, reject, or counteroffer. What if, for whatever reason, the lender cannot make a decision within 30 days? Can that be extended?

Also, has TRID changed the definition of application within Reg B? What does a completed application mean for your bank, regarding this rule?

Thanks!

Return to Top
Lending Compliance
#2068956 - 03/14/16 05:47 PM Re: ECOA 30 Day Rule for Adverse Action tgpitts11
JC (Darth HMDA) Offline
Diamond Poster
JC (Darth HMDA)
CA
Reg B gives the creditor flexibility when defining a "completed application" you must document in your procedures what constitutes a completed application and from that point you have 30 days to make a credit decision.

If you discover other items needed to make a credit decision you can issue a notice of incompleteness - other than that you cannot extend.

Note, this is an initial credit decision. For us, we issue a conditional approval, subject to appraised value at X, etc.

TRID has not changed the definition of application in Reg B, but the TRID application is now triggered when ALIENS is collected.

Return to Top
#2068977 - 03/14/16 06:16 PM Re: ECOA 30 Day Rule for Adverse Action JC (Darth HMDA)
RR Becca Offline
Power Poster
RR Becca
out of the frying pan...
Originally Posted By Darth HMDA
the TRID application is now triggered when ALIENS is collected.