Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#2039090 - 09/17/15 03:38 PM Advice needed on handling delicate situation
John Burnett Offline
10K Club
John Burnett
Cape Cod
I have been asked to post this by one of our users who was having trouble posting anonymously. Thankful that I never had to face these circumstances while I was active as a bank compliance officer, I ask on the anonymous user's behalf for some ideas on how to handle this rather delicate situation:

"I have an employee who is having a medical procedure done. I walked in the bank this morning and noticed flyers were posted around the bank that her family is helping her by selling hamburger plates to help pay for her medical expeses. Not only are there flyers posted but it is displayed on the monitors at the drive thru. She is also selling tickets for a drawing. If someone could please help me by directing me to regulation this is violating and if anyone has input on how they have handled this type of situation discreetly I would greatly appreciate any feed back. Thank you in advance."
Bankers' Threads User #8

Return to Top
Human Resources
#2039091 - 09/17/15 03:42 PM Re: Advice needed on handling delicate situation John Burnett
rlcarey Offline
10K Club
rlcarey
Galveston, TX
There is no law or regulation that would prohibit such actions. Normally, this is handled in the employee handbook or other employee publication outlining the general rules of the road for working at the bank. This normally carries a "no solicitation" clause within the employee guidelines.

If you do it for one, you are going to be stuck doing it for all.

Return to Top
#2039093 - 09/17/15 03:46 PM Re: Advice needed on handling delicate situation John Burnett
John Burnett Offline
10K Club
John Burnett
Cape Cod
The "tickets for a drawing" piece of the situation is a violation of the prohibition on a bank conducting or promoting a lottery (or allowing anyone else to do so on the bank premises).
Bankers' Threads User #8