Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#2087992 - 07/14/16 03:36 PM Pre-Close Reviews?
Cheli Offline
Platinum Poster
Cheli
Hi- Does anyone perform a Pre-Close "Review" of a mortgage loan closing package?
Ie: dates correct, all necessary documents are included, correct forms used etc??

As a compliance officer, I do perform this because frankly, our LOS is horrible, and staff is not retaining much of their training (another issue I battle on daily basis)...
but it is getting beyond tedious - However, we are heading in a new direction with a new LOS, and there is a lot of "trust" that is going into the new LOS...
The goal is to not have to perform "pre-close reviews" and trust the system; deficiencies can be caught in audits. Ultimately removing me from the front end (proactive, spear-head) process and placing me in an auditing (advising) role.

Ideally, they want to see the entire review go away...even once a new LOS has established some trust, would anyone agree that a Review should still be performed?...perhaps just more high level by the actual department?

Thoughts?

Return to Top
TRID - TILA/RESPA Integrated Disclosures Rule
#2088006 - 07/14/16 03:54 PM Re: Pre-Close Reviews? Cheli
MScarn6942 Offline
Platinum Poster
Land Lacking in Lakes, IL
I used to do those at my previous bank, not so much to proof the LOS (pre-TRID, the LOS was fine), but to proof the processors. We had tons of secondary market exceptions that had to be cleared on lots of loans, so I did some of the proofing to make sure the package that went out was correct and that we at least wouldn't have to have the borrower resign.

Return to Top
#2088012 - 07/14/16 04:00 PM Re: Pre-Close Reviews? Cheli
Cheli Offline
Platinum Poster
Cheli