Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Learn More - Click Here!

New Reply Thread Options
#2100436 - 09/26/16 08:15 PM HMDA HELP
Anonymous
Unregistered

I am new to this institution and discovered that no one has been doing HMDA edit checks on a regular basis. Needless to say I now have over 500 pages of errors to be corrected - just thru September. My question is related to the loan officer's lack on inputting information into our LOS system. There are multiple, multiple files missing income, property addresses (even on refi of primary residences, interest rates, etc). I am suspicious that previous HMDA information was incorrectly reported (the person who previously handled HMDA passed away). He had his own "interpretation" of what was to be reported (thought it wasn't a loan application until it was submitted to processing.

So I need some direction on which loans have to be reported if there is missing information and if it needs to be corrected how would we go about obtaining for example borrower income information from consumers back in January? Can we just enter 0 as the income or should be enter 1?

Any help will be greatly appreciated and keep me from opening the bottle of tequila cleverly disguised on my desk.
THanks

Return to Top Reply Quote Quick Reply Quick Quote
#2100445 - 09/26/16 08:45 PM Re: HMDA HELP Anonymous
HMDA is my life Offline
Well...what a conundrum!!!! First if the loan purpose is to purchase a dwelling and is secured by a dwelling, if the loan purpose is to refinance a dwelling secured loan with a new dwelling secured loan to the same borrower, and if any of the proceeds are used for home improvements (as defined or classified at you FI) the loan is reportable and there can be no missing information. This is going to be a tedious project. The hardest 3 things will be determing the loan purpose,collecting GMI, and assessing the application received date. Everything else that is to be reported should be in the file as a matter of business.