Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#2155611 - 11/30/17 08:58 PM Name Change with gender change
Compl101TX Offline
Gold Star
Compl101TX
W. TX
This is a new one for me. We have an existing account customer wanting a loan under their new name. He changed the name in California and the gender also. Since this is an existing customer we don't have to do CIP but they want the loan under the new name. How should we handled this? Our BSA-CIP policy doesn't mention something like this.

Return to Top
BSA/AML/CIP/OFAC Forum
#2155626 - 11/30/17 09:33 PM Re: Name Change with gender change Compl101TX
bcompliance Offline
Diamond Poster
I have no experience with this either, but I'm assuming you'd proceed the exact same way you would with an individual who got married and changed their name. They are still the same person for CIP, they just have a new name.

Return to Top
#2155632 - 11/30/17 09:51 PM Re: Name Change with gender change Compl101TX
Elwood P. Dowd Offline
10K Club
Elwood P. Dowd
Next to Harvey
Your applicant wants a new name and a new gender. I would encourage you to go with that and treat him like a new customer for the purposes of CIP. In a supportive way, you might want to point out that if could be an important test for him to make certain he's taken all of the necessary legal steps and the credit bureau is in alignment.

Return to Top
#2155644 - 11/30/17 10:57 PM Re: Name Change with gender change Compl101TX
Compl101TX Offline
Gold Star
Compl101TX
W. TX
We'll go with that Ken thanks.

Return to Top
#2155645 - 11/30/17 10:59 PM Re: Name Change with gender change Compl101TX
CountryBanker Offline
Gold Star
Northern IL
Am curious, ComplTX, whether your customer kept the same SSNo or not?
And I think I'll stay tuned for the Credit Bureau answer as well.
I better let the BSA folks here know a similar situation could occur, better to be prepared!

Return to Top
#2155659 - 12/01/17 07:54 AM Re: Name Change with gender change Compl101TX
Mah Na Mah Na Offline