Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#2107283 - 11/14/16 11:51 PM Sample Military Lending Act Policy
smowry80 Offline
New Poster
Hi! I'm new to Compliance and have been tasked with writing a Military Lending Act Policy. Does anyone have a sample they'd be willing to share?

Return to Top
Lending to Servicemembers (SCRA, JWNDAA), War, Terrorism
#2107518 - 11/16/16 02:26 PM Re: Sample Military Lending Act Policy smowry80
Andy_Z Offline
10K Club
Andy_Z
On the Net
Throwing out there - please do not share copyrighted material if you are not the copyright owner.
Rules and Regs minus Relationships equals Resentment and Rebellion. John Maxwell

Return to Top
#2107851 - 11/17/16 10:04 PM Re: Sample Military Lending Act Policy smowry80
MyBrainHurts Offline
Platinum Poster
Illinois
There are other compliance sites, less credible than BOL, that have policy sharing. I've never felt comfortable with that. Although I write our bank's policies, they are the intellectual property of the bank, not me. The other issue is that I'm not sure I trust a stranger to get it right. I never liked group projects in school. MLA isn't the most complex rule. Get the reg and the Q&A from late September and sketch out a policy that fits your bank.

Return to Top
#2107865 - 11/18/16 12:04 AM Re: Sample Military Lending Act Policy smowry80
CULady Offline
Gold Star
WA
We actually just added MLA portions to our existing loan policies instead of creating a new full blown policy.

Return to Top
#2107875 - 11/18/16 12:11 PM Re: Sample Military Lending Act Policy MyBrainHurts
rlcarey Online
10K Club
rlcarey
Galveston, TX
Originally Posted By MyBrainHurts
Although I write our bank's policies, they are the intellectual property of the bank, not me.

I agree. The Board and Management pay good money for the development of internal policies. Someone in the bank just giving away that intellectual property should probably be on the chopping block.