Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#2166173 - 02/28/18 05:37 PM Early Loan Payoff - SARs needed?
surfer10 Offline
New Poster
We have a difference of opinion in the office, as to whether or not SARs should be filed. We have 4 loans that funded at the end of 2017, where we have been notified by the Investor that the loans were "early payoffs". In each case, the borrowers took large cash-out & then 2-4 months later, sold the houses. Some feel that they knew they were going to sell & committed misrepresentation. Some feel that because they signed a document saying they would occupy the home for 12 months, that they have committed misrepresentation. If a house was actually "listed for sale" (we didn't know at the time") is that fraud? I'm new to the world of SARs, so I could use some advice.

Return to Top
BSA/AML/CIP/OFAC Forum
#2166178 - 02/28/18 05:56 PM Re: Early Loan Payoff - SARs needed? surfer10
rlcarey Offline
10K Club
rlcarey
Galveston, TX
Some feel that because they signed a document saying they would occupy the home for 12 months, that they have committed misrepresentation.

For four separate houses?

Return to Top
#2166180 - 02/28/18 05:59 PM Re: Early Loan Payoff - SARs needed? surfer10
surfer10 Offline
New Poster
yes....4 different homes....4 different borrowers

Return to Top
#2166185 - 02/28/18 06:24 PM Re: Early Loan Payoff - SARs needed? surfer10
rlcarey Offline
10K Club
rlcarey
Galveston, TX
Well, that is some kind of a coincidence I would think? I would be doing a lot of digging into this situation to understand why. Is there a relationship somewhere? Also will depend on what sort of loans these might have been and a review the documents to determine if there were false statements made - FHA, FNMA, etc.

Return to Top
#2166189 - 02/28/18 06:44 PM Re: Early Loan Payoff - SARs needed? surfer10
surfer10 Offline
New Poster