Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Thread Options
#2179341 - 05/23/18 04:35 PM Lower Fee Amounts and Tolerance.
Permissible Purpose Offline
Hello everyone,

I'm relatively new to TRID and have come across a situation that I'm not really finding much guidance on. I am hoping that one of our resident TRID experts can hopefully answer my question.

With regard to fees that are lowered on a redisclosed LE vs. what has been originally disclosed- would you use the higher, originally disclosed fee amount when comparing the LE to the CD to determine good faith?

For example: if I have a fee that is originally disclosed as 300, then later the fee is reduced to 200, but on the CD the actual fee total from invoice or title company, etc.is 300, would you use the 300.00 originally disclosed LE amount to compare to the CD amount? I am thinking yes, because wouldn't the lower total create a need to cure when this is truly not needed?

Also- I am assuming that you would want to re-issue the LE with lower fee amount and only use the higher total for tolerance check. Is this correct?

Thank you.

Return to Top
TRID - TILA/RESPA Integrated Disclosures Rule
#2179350 - 05/23/18 04:45 PM Re: Lower Fee Amounts and Tolerance. Permissible Purpose
rlcarey Online
10K Club
rlcarey
Galveston, TX
You would use the original amount from the initial LE, unless you have an investor that requires something else. However, it does bring into question a violation of good faith on the revised LE that was issued.

Return to Top
#2179376 - 05/23/18 05:25 PM Re: Lower Fee Amounts and Tolerance. rlcarey
Thank you for your response!

Would you mind explaining the comment on violation of good faith please?