Skip to content
GeoDataVision
Thread Options
#2185690 - 07/17/18 05:50 PM New branch out of current CRA assessment area
WIBanker91 Offline
100 Club
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 180
WI
We are opening a branch a significant distance from out current locations. Of course we have an idea where we will be lending, is it better to overestimate the area or under estimate? I am currently considering 2-3 counties based on where the office will be. Limiting tracts within those will be difficult. Thoughts anyone?

Return to Top
CRA
#2185920 - 07/18/18 05:48 PM Re: New branch out of current CRA assessment area WIBanker91
Tennismom Offline
Platinum Poster
Tennismom
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 768
Have you thought of using an entire county, that way you are not arbitrarily omitting LMI CTs or majority/minority CTs? As of yet, our examiners (FDIC) have not commented on how we delineate our AAs. If we have a branch presence in a county then that county is included in an AA. For example if we have branch locations in 6 out of 8 counties in a MSA, then we delineate that AA as the 6 counties were we have a branch. Yes, you need to monitor your lending in those other 2 counties and if deemed necessary change your AA to include. So to answer your question, under estimate as long as you are periodically monitoring lending activities..

Return to Top
#2185985 - 07/18/18 11:25 PM Re: New branch out of current CRA assessment area WIBanker91
Moman Offline
Platinum Poster
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 505
WA
We were in the process of opening our first branch barely inside an adjacent county within a major metro area during our most recent FRB exam. Examiners cautioned us that they would prefer entire counties rather than carving out census tracts. Performance context is there to explain away why you aren't lending on the other side of the geography, far away from your branch presence.

Return to Top