Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#2188191 - 08/06/18 08:59 PM Two denials, same property, report twice?
Debbie Offline
New Poster
I have a denial for one borrower. The borrower then added his wife, we are denying it also. So do I do HMDA on both denials?

Return to Top
HMDA

HMDA Academy
#2188193 - 08/06/18 09:27 PM Re: Two denials, same property, report twice? Debbie
raitchjay Offline
Power Poster
OK
You say he added his wife, which sounds to me like you treated it as a continuation of the first application. If that's the case, just report once. If you treated them as 2 different applications, you'd report twice.

Return to Top
#2188218 - 08/07/18 01:42 PM Re: Two denials, same property, report twice? Debbie
Debbie Offline
New Poster
We have two applications and two adverse action notices. But in the past our third party auditors always told us you only put a property on the LAR once, never twice. I'm new to HMDA so I don't know if that was the rule before 2018, or if that is still the rule. But the mortgage department is having a hard time with putting it on the LAR twice based on what auditors have told us in the past.

Return to Top
#2188222 - 08/07/18 01:47 PM Re: Two denials, same property, report twice? Debbie
raitchjay Offline
Power Poster
OK
That's never been the rule.....in theory, someone could apply and get denied to buy the same property 15 times in a year. If that were the case, that property would get reported 15 times on your LAR.

Return to Top
#2188223 - 08/07/18 01:51 PM Re: Two denials, same property, report twice? Debbie
raitchjay Offline
Power Poster
OK
(A more likely scenario that also shoots down your auditors' claim: customer refinances their home with you in January. Goes on the LAR. Customer comes back in November needing to refinance, this time with cash out. Gets reported on your LAR. Same property.)

Return to Top
#2188315 - 08/07/18 08:00 PM Re: Two denials, same property, report twice? Debbie
John Burnett Offline