Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#2190501 - 08/24/18 03:23 PM The risk of Banking a Credit Union
Banker291 Offline
We recently came across an account for a local church credit union that has been banking with our bank for the past 30 years. We discovered that they are using their main account here to clear their customer deposits, hence we are accepting 3rd party checks which we generally do not do. The tellers never questioned the account since it has been here for so long and there's never been an issue with returned checks or fraud. Since I am new to the bank, I'm just wondering what the risks would be in continuing this relationship. The only reason this account was looked at is because they would like to use Remote Deposit Capture. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Return to Top
Deposits and Payments
#2190507 - 08/24/18 03:39 PM Re: The risk of Banking a Credit Union Banker291
rlcarey Offline
10K Club
rlcarey
Galveston, TX
Since I am new to the bank, I'm just wondering what the risks would be in continuing this relationship.

Zero.

Common practice for small credit unions to use a local bank for checking clearing purposes in this manner.

Return to Top
#2190509 - 08/24/18 03:49 PM Re: The risk of Banking a Credit Union Banker291
HappyGilmore Online
10K Club
Pulling people out of the ditc...
simple correspondent banking relationship, happens quite frequently.

Return to Top
#2190514 - 08/24/18 03:52 PM Re: The risk of Banking a Credit Union rlcarey
Banker291 Offline
Thanks for the response rlcarey.