Skip to content
BOL Conferences
Thread Options
#2191675 - 09/05/18 05:51 PM Changing Signers on a Corp. Account
WC Offline
WC
Mid West
Currently we require updated Articles of Incorporation when changing signers on a business account. We are now having push back from one particular member b/c they are an attorney and we "shouldn't need this to update signers". What does everyone else ask for when trying to update signers on a corporation?

Return to Top
Deposits and Payments
#2191680 - 09/05/18 06:01 PM Re: Changing Signers on a Corp. Account WC
rlcarey Offline
10K Club
rlcarey
Galveston, TX
A new corporate resolution. Why would they have to update their articles to appoint someone new to sign on a checking account?

Return to Top
#2191681 - 09/05/18 06:03 PM Re: Changing Signers on a Corp. Account rlcarey
WC Offline
WC
Mid West
All the original people listed on this particular Articles are deceased. Would that not need updated? I am new to this part of compliance and appreciate your input.

Return to Top
#2191688 - 09/05/18 06:34 PM Re: Changing Signers on a Corp. Account WC
osucpa Offline
Diamond Poster
Not trying to be critical but this is not a compliance issue, this is a contract issue. First of all don't listen to your customer, the bank should determine what they want. Get a new Corporate Resolution identifying who can conduct transactions on behalf of the Company.

Return to Top
#2191705 - 09/05/18 07:48 PM Re: Changing Signers on a Corp. Account WC
John Burnett Offline
10K Club
John Burnett
Cape Cod
Agreed. Asking for revised Articles is overkill and overreaching. It also creates unneeded hassle for the customer. A certified resolution of the governing board (board of directors, typically) authorizing the addition or change is what you need, along with a signature of the lucky individual(s).
Bankers' Threads User #8

Return to Top
#2195669 - 10/17/18 04:02 PM Re: Changing Signers on a Corp. Account John Burnett
haley.jones Offline
New Poster